“This is Not a Conversation”

For you, she whispered.

No, I don’t want to see you.

I can’t do that right now.

How was your weekend?

It’s okay if you don’t want to answer.

It was fine.

Tell me how you knew you loved me.

I can’t answer that.

Then why did you stop?

I don’t know if I did.

I know you are still in there, and

you will thank me for this one day.

Not today.

(Well, another day, then)

I’m sorry but I just need you

to tell me.

(Don’t you know it hurts to ask)

When did you know things weren’t right?

I’m going to bed.

(Please say this is bothering you too)

Do you even like me as a person?

You’re driving me crazy.

I feel crazy.

Did you know it was the last time

for everything? Did you premeditate

and count your steps like I do?

Yes, and every heartbeat, too.

I’m trying to be patient.

– P.B.

Leave a Reply

